Major Arcana

The Major Arcana are the first set of cards. There are 22 cards in the Major Arcana set. Separate from the Minor Arcana, the Major Arcana are not divided into suits like regular playing cards, but are allegorical symbols of the ‘Journey of the Fool’, a journey we all take in our lives; a symbolic journey of understanding. Click each image to go to the card page, where you’ll find details on their meanings. Major Arcana are also known as ‘trump’ cards. Many of the most well known and iconic tarot cards; The Fool, The Lovers, The Hermit, Death, for example, are all from the Major Arcana.

RWS_Tarot_00_Fool0 – The Fool

RWS_Tarot_01_MagicianI – The Magician

RWS_Tarot_02_High_PriestessII – The High Priestess

The EmpressIII – The Empress

RWS_Tarot_04_EmperorIV – The Emperor

RWS_Tarot_05_HierophantV – The Hierophant

RWS_Tarot_06_LoversVI – The Lovers

RWS_Tarot_07_ChariotVII – The Chariot

RWS_Tarot_11_JusticeVIII (or XI) – Justice

The HermitIX – The Hermit

wheel of fortuneX – The Wheel of Fortune

The Hanged ManXI (or VIII) – Strength

RWS_Tarot_12_Hanged_ManXII – The Hanged Man

tarot deathXIII – Death

Temperance TarotXIV – Temperance

Tarot DevilXV – The Devil

RWS_Tarot_16_TowerXVI – The Tower

tarot starXVII – The Star

RWS_Tarot_18_MoonXVIII – The Moon

sun tarotXIX – The Sun

RWS_Tarot_20_JudgementXX – Judgement

Tarot - The WorldXXI – The World

See related: